Geely Galaxy EX5 vs Deepal S05: two Chinese electric SUVs around Rs 60 lakh compared
Wheels of Nepal · Last updated: · 7 min read
Pick the Deepal S05 (from Rs 57.99 lakh) if you want the lower price, a fully published spec sheet and a longer battery warranty in kilometres. Pick the Geely Galaxy EX5 (from Rs 61.99 lakh) if you want a range figure measured on the stricter WLTP test and more power, and you are happy to confirm some details with the dealer. Prices are indicative ex-showroom prices on the official sites, checked October 2026.
Both are five-seat electric SUVs from Chinese groups, each new to Nepal in the last two years. MAW Vriddhi sells the Deepal; LRR Motors imports the Geely. We have not driven either, so this comparison uses only official figures and news reports, and says where a figure is missing.
Price and variants
| Model and variant | Indicative ex-showroom price |
|---|---|
| Deepal S05 Plus | Rs 57,99,000 |
| Deepal S05 Max | Rs 62,99,000 |
| Geely Galaxy EX5 Pro | Rs 61,99,000 |
| Geely Galaxy EX5 Max | Rs 72,99,000 |
- Cheapest to cheapest: the EX5 Pro costs Rs 4 lakh more than the S05 Plus.
- Top to top: the EX5 Max costs Rs 10 lakh more than the S05 Max.
Neither distributor's site says clearly what the upper variant adds. The S05's two versions share one 56.1 kWh battery. LRR's EX5 page describes one feature set for "the EX5". At the August 2025 launch, OnlineKhabar and Business 360 both reported the same battery and motor for the Pro and the Max. Ask each dealer for the variant-wise equipment sheet before you choose.
EX5 prices have risen since launch. Those reports gave Rs 58 lakh for the Pro and Rs 68 lakh for the Max.
Range, battery and charging
| Deepal S05 | Geely Galaxy EX5 | |
|---|---|---|
| Battery | 56.1 kWh LFP | 60.2 kWh LFP (launch reports; not on LRR's page) |
| Claimed range | 470 km (NEDC) | up to 430 km (WLTP); 530 km CLTC in launch reports |
| Motor | 99 kW (134 PS), rear-wheel drive | 160 kW (launch reports; not on LRR's page) |
| Torque | 320 Nm | not published |
| 0–100 km/h | not listed | 6.9 s (claimed) |
| AC charging | up to 7 kW | not stated |
| DC fast charging | up to 151.5 kW; 30–80% in 15 min | 30–80% in 20 min (peak power not stated) |
| V2L | 6 kW | up to 3.3 kW |
The range numbers are on different scales. Deepal quotes NEDC, an old European test. Geely quotes WLTP, which replaced it. When Europe switched, the European Commission's Joint Research Centre found electric range came out at about 0.8 times the NEDC figure. Applied to the S05, that gives a rough WLTP-like figure of about 376 km. That is our estimate, not Deepal's.
| Geely Galaxy EX5 (WLTP, official) | 430 km |
|---|---|
| Deepal S05 (estimate from NEDC) | 376 km |
Source: EX5: LRR Motors official page, 430 km WLTP. S05: 470 km NEDC from MAW Vriddhi × 0.8, the average WLTP/NEDC electric range ratio found by the EU Joint Research Centre (2017); our estimate
So on paper the EX5 likely goes further, which fits its larger reported battery. Neither figure is a promise for Nepal's hills. Our range test explainer shows why, and how to plan around it.
Both brands quote DC charging for the same 30–80% window, so these two times can be compared: 15 minutes for the S05 and 20 for the EX5. Those speeds need a fast charger that can deliver them. Our EV charging guide covers what Nepal's public chargers offer.
Space, features and safety we can confirm
| Deepal S05 | Geely Galaxy EX5 | |
|---|---|---|
| Length × width × height | 4,620 × 1,900 × 1,600 mm | not stated |
| Wheelbase | 2,880 mm | not stated |
| Boot | 159 L front boot; rear boot not listed | volume not stated; folding rear seats |
| Ground clearance | not listed | not stated |
| Wheels | 18-inch, 235/60 R18 | 19-inch |
| Touchscreen | 15.4-inch, plus AR head-up display | 15.4-inch |
| Sunroof | panoramic glass roof with sunshade | panoramic |
| Camera | 360-degree | 360-degree |
| Airbags | front, front side and curtain (count not stated) | not stated |
| ADAS | about 20 listed functions incl. adaptive cruise, lane centring, AEB, blind-spot detection | lane keep assist, intelligent cruise, emergency manoeuvre assist, blind-spot detection, door open warning |
| Seats | ventilated and heated front seats, power-adjusted | "5+1 layer" front seats (as written by LRR) |
| Audio | 8 or 14 speakers (variant split unclear) | 16-speaker Flyme |
| Safety rating | not stated | LRR's page claims 5 stars from NCAP and Euro NCAP |
Deepal publishes far more detail. LRR's page leaves out dimensions, boot volume and airbag count, so measure the EX5's boot yourself and ask for the full specification sheet.
Running cost and EMI
With no official efficiency figure to separate them, we use one cautious assumption for both: 18 kWh per 100 km at the plug. At the NEA domestic top block of Rs 11 plus 5% VAT (Rs 11.55 per unit), 1,500 km a month uses 270 units and costs about Rs 3,120 a month in either car.
| S05 Plus | S05 Max | EX5 Pro | EX5 Max | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Down payment (40%) | Rs 23,19,600 | Rs 25,19,600 | Rs 24,79,600 | Rs 29,19,600 |
| EMI, 5 years at 7.90% | about Rs 70,400 | about Rs 76,500 | about Rs 75,200 | about Rs 88,600 |
Warranty and service network
- Deepal: MAW Vriddhi's standard terms are 8 years or 2,40,000 km on the battery and 8 years or 1,50,000 km on the motor. An optional extension takes the battery to 11 years or 3,00,000 km. To keep that cover you must stay insured with Shikhar Insurance, and the page says eligible items "may vary by model".
- Geely: LRR's EX5 page gives no warranty terms. At launch, OnlineKhabar and Business 360 reported an 8-year or 2,00,000 km battery warranty from LRR. Get the current terms in writing.
On sales outlets, news reports cover Deepal showrooms opening in Kathmandu (Maharajgunj), Bhaktapur, Birgunj, Birtamode, Itahari and Pokhara. LRR's Geely page lists one showroom in Kathmandu. OnlineKhabar reported a Butwal dealer appointment in November 2025, with LRR planning 14 dealers within a year. Check which workshop near you can service each car. Our EV battery warranty guide lists the questions to ask.
Which one should you buy?
- If price is the limit, the S05 Plus is the cheapest way into either car, Rs 4 lakh below the EX5 Pro.
- If you drive long distances, the EX5's 430 km WLTP and reported 60.2 kWh battery point to more range than the S05. Confirm the battery size on the invoice.
- If you want everything on paper before you buy, Deepal's full specification sheet and published warranty make the S05 easier to judge.
- If you want V2L for camping or power cuts, the S05's 6 kW outlet is the stronger of the two.
Neither car wins on comfort, build quality or resale, which we cannot measure from data. Book test drives of both.
Also consider in this band:
Compare them in the compare tool, read Deepal S05 vs BYD Atto 3, or browse the electric car price list.
Sources
- LRR Motors – Geely Galaxy EX5 page (Pro and Max MRP, range, charging, features)
- Changan Nepal (MAW Vriddhi) – Deepal price list
- Changan Nepal – Deepal S05 specification
- Changan Nepal – Deepal extended warranty
- OnlineKhabar English – Geely EX5 series makes its debut in Nepal (5 August 2025)
- Business 360 – LRR Motors launches 2025 Geely EX5 series in Nepal (5 August 2025)
- OnlineKhabar English – LRR Motors appoints Somarjun Motors as Butwal dealer (20 November 2025)
- The Himalayan Times – Deepal S05 electric SUV launched in Birtamode (15 November 2025)
- The Himalayan Times – Deepal opens new showroom in Itahari
- Republica – Deepal opens new showroom in Maharajgunj
- Corporate Khabar – Deepal's new showroom opens in Bhaktapur (26 October 2024)
- Aarthik News – Deepal showroom in Pokhara (24 February 2025)
- Business 360 – MAW Vriddhi unveils Deepal S05 in Birgunj (16 October 2025)
- European Commission Joint Research Centre – From NEDC to WLTP: effect on the type-approval CO2 emissions of light-duty vehicles (2017)
- Nepal Electricity Authority – Consumer tariff rates
- The Kathmandu Post – Households using over 50 electricity units to pay five percent VAT (18 July 2026)
- Nepal Bank Limited – Interest rates (effective Kartik 1, 2083)
- Business 360 – Monetary policy mid-term review: vehicle loan ratio set at 60% (26 February 2025)
#geely#galaxy-ex5#deepal#s05#electric-suv#comparison#ev