EV battery warranties in Nepal compared, brand by brand
Wheels of Nepal · Last updated: · 9 min read
Most electric cars on sale in Nepal list an 8-year battery warranty on their official pages, usually capped at 1,50,000 to 2,00,000 km; electric scooters range from 2 years (Yadea Keeness, E8S Pro) to 8 years (Yatri P2, Ather Rizta LR and R35).
The battery is the most expensive part of an electric vehicle, and the warranty on it is one of the best guides to how much risk you are taking on. In Nepal, though, warranty terms are scattered across distributor websites, written in different ways, and sometimes split into separate parts for the vehicle, the motor and the battery.
So we read the official Nepal pages for every EV in our catalogue and collected what they actually state. If a page did not give a figure, we left it blank rather than filling it in from another country's warranty. Everything below was checked in October 2026; warranties change, so confirm the terms on your own quotation before you buy.
How to read an EV warranty
Most EV warranties have up to three parts:
- Vehicle warranty: covers manufacturing defects in the rest of the car. Often the shortest term.
- High-voltage battery warranty: covers the traction battery pack. Usually the longest term.
- Motor or "high-voltage components" warranty: sometimes separate, sometimes included with the battery.
Each term is usually "years or kilometres, whichever comes first", so a taxi or a heavy commuter may hit the kilometre limit long before the years run out. To check how much battery you are buying, the kWh figure is on every model page.
Electric cars: what the official pages say
| Brand and model | Battery warranty | Vehicle / other warranty | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| BYD ATTO 3, Dolphin, Seal, M6 | 8 years / 1,60,000 km | Same page states 8 years / 1,60,000 km "battery and vehicle warranty" | Terms apply |
| BYD ATTO 2 | 6 years / 1,50,000 km | 6 years / 1,50,000 km battery and vehicle | Terms apply |
| BYD ATTO 1 | 8 years / 1,50,000 km | Not stated | The page does not say what this covers |
| MG4 EV, MG S5 EV | 8 years / 1,50,000 km | Vehicle 1 year; high-voltage components 3 years / 1,00,000 km | Whichever is earlier |
| MG S6 EV | 8 years / 1,50,000 km | Vehicle 1 year; traction motor 5 years / 1,00,000 km | Whichever is earlier |
| Leapmotor T03 | 8 years / 1,60,000 km | Vehicle 3 years / 1,00,000 km | Whichever comes first |
| Leapmotor B10 | 8 years / 1,50,000 km | Vehicle 4 years / 1,00,000 km | Whichever comes first |
| Leapmotor C10 | 8 years / 1,60,000 km | Vehicle 4 years / 1,00,000 km | Whichever comes first |
| Dongfeng Nammi Box, Vigo | 8 years / 2,00,000 km (battery and motor) | Covered by Dongfeng's standard warranty; no figure given | Optional paid extension to 11 years / 2,50,000 km |
| iCAUR V23 | 8 years / 1,80,000 km | Motor 8 years / 1,60,000 km | Optional extension adds 3 years / 60,000 km to each |
| Wuling Mini EV, Eksion, Darion | 8 years / 1,50,000 km | Traction motor 8 years / 1,50,000 km | Whichever is earlier |
| Suzuki e VITARA | 8 years | Not stated | The kilometre figure is printed unclearly on the page, so we have not repeated it |
| Skywell BE11 | 8 years / 155,000 miles | 7 years / 100,000 miles | The distributor's page states these limits in miles |
| Maxus eDeliver 5 | 8 years | Motor 5 years | No kilometre limit given |
Source: each brand's official Nepal page (listed under Sources), via our catalogue, checked October 2026.
| BYD Atto 3, Dolphin, Seal, M6 | 1,60,000 km |
|---|---|
| BYD Atto 2 | 1,50,000 km |
| BYD Atto 1 | 1,50,000 km |
| MG4 EV, S5 EV, S6 EV | 1,50,000 km |
| Leapmotor T03, C10 | 1,60,000 km |
| Leapmotor B10 | 1,50,000 km |
| Dongfeng Nammi Box, Vigo | 2,00,000 km |
| iCAUR V23 | 1,80,000 km |
| Wuling Mini EV, Eksion, Darion | 1,50,000 km |
Source: Official Nepal distributor pages via our catalogue, October 2026 (table above; models with a km limit only)
Each model page shows these terms alongside prices and specs, for example the BYD ATTO 3, MG4 EV, Leapmotor T03 and Dongfeng Nammi Box.
A note on BYD
In April 2025 the Nepali Times reported that Cimex had extended BYD's main warranty in Nepal to 10 years or 200,000 km. The Cimex model pages we checked in October 2026 state 8 years or 1,60,000 km (6 years or 1,50,000 km for the ATTO 2). Ask Cimex which terms apply to the car on your quotation and get them in writing.
Models with no warranty figure in our catalogue yet
For several EVs on sale in Nepal, including models from Hyundai, Mahindra, Deepal, Omoda and Jaecoo, BMW and BYD's Sealion 7, the official Nepal pages we crawled did not give a warranty figure we could record. That does not mean there is no warranty; it means you should ask the dealer for the warranty document before you sign.
Electric scooters and motorcycles
Two-wheeler warranties are generally shorter, and often differ between variants of the same model.
| Brand and model | Battery warranty | Vehicle / motor warranty | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ather Rizta | 5 years (Base); 8 years (LR, R35) | Not stated on the model page | Varies by variant |
| Ather 450 | Up to 8 years / 80,000 km | Vehicle 3 years / 30,000 km | The 8-year Eight70 battery cover is an optional paid add-on |
| Yatri P2 | 8 years / 80,000 km | Not stated | |
| Bajaj Chetak C3501 | Not stated separately | 5 years / 50,000 km | |
| Bajaj Chetak C2501, C3503 | Not stated separately | 3 years / 30,000 km | |
| Yadea GT70, GT80, GS70, Velax, Owin | 3 years / 50,000 km | Motor 2 years / 20,000 km | Whichever first |
| Yadea Keeness, E8S Pro | 2 years / 20,000 km | Motor 2 years / 20,000 km | Whichever first |
| NIU FQiX 300 | 3 years / 30,000 km | Not stated |
Source: official Nepal pages, via our catalogue, checked October 2026.
| Ather Rizta Base | 5 years |
|---|---|
| Ather Rizta LR, R35 | 8 years |
| Yatri P2 | 8 years |
| Yadea GT70, GT80, GS70, Velax, Owin | 3 years |
| Yadea Keeness, E8S Pro | 2 years |
| NIU FQiX 300 | 3 years |
Source: Official Nepal distributor pages via our catalogue, October 2026 (table above)
See the Ather Rizta or Yatri P2 pages for full specs, or the electric scooter price list.
We could not find a battery warranty figure on the official Nepal pages for the TVS iQube and Orbiter or most NIU and Super Soco models, so ask the dealer.
The small print that matters
The headline years and kilometres are only half the story. The official pages we read set conditions like these:
Authorised servicing and records
Leapmotor, Dongfeng and iCAUR all require servicing at authorised centres, following the maintenance schedule, using approved parts and keeping records. Leapmotor states that battery cover depends on following the recommended service schedule. Skipping a service to save money can cost you the battery warranty.
Normal capacity loss is not a fault
Batteries lose some capacity as they age. Leapmotor's page excludes normal capacity loss caused by ageing, temperature, driving style or charging habits. Ather's warranty policy for the 450 series does set a floor: it says capacity, measured by Ather's own test, shall not fall by more than 30% within the battery warranty period. Few car brands' Nepal pages publish a threshold like this, so ask what level of capacity loss the brand treats as a warranty claim.
Charging with the right equipment
Ather's policy defines normal use as charging only with the charger Ather supplied. Dongfeng lists improper charging among its exclusions. Use the maker's charger, and have any home wall box installed properly; our guide to installing an EV charger at home explains how.
Extended warranties tied to insurance
Two brands sell longer battery and motor cover through an insurer:
- Dongfeng: the paid Premium Warranty (11 years / 2,50,000 km) is issued only with a Shikhar Insurance comprehensive policy, and continuous cover with Shikhar is required. Switching insurer ends it.
- iCAUR: the extended warranty (through SPG Automobiles) is tied to a Himalayan Everest Insurance policy, with the same rule about switching insurer.
Before you take an extended plan, compare the insurance premium you will be locked into over the years against other insurers' quotes.
Accidents, flooding and modifications
All the policies we read exclude damage from accidents, misuse and unauthorised modifications, and several exclude external causes such as water ingress or weather. Comprehensive insurance, not the warranty, is what covers a battery damaged in a crash or flood.
Does the warranty pass to the next owner?
This affects resale value. Ather's policy says its warranty period runs from the original invoice date regardless of any change of ownership. The other official pages we checked do not say either way. If you may sell within the warranty period, ask the brand now. Our used EV buying guide covers what a second owner should check.
What to ask before you buy
- What are the battery, motor and vehicle terms, in years and kilometres?
- Does the warranty start at invoice, registration or handover?
- What capacity loss counts as a warranty claim?
- Which services must be done, where, and at roughly what cost?
- Does the warranty transfer to a later owner?
- Is any extended plan tied to one insurer?
A long battery warranty is reassuring, but it is one factor among several. Read our 10 things to consider before buying an EV, browse the EV price list, and compare models side by side in the compare tool. Prices in our catalogue are indicative ex-showroom prices from the official sites (checked October 2026).
Sources
- Cimex (BYD Nepal) – ATTO 3 (battery and vehicle warranty)
- Cimex (BYD Nepal) – ATTO 2 (battery and vehicle warranty)
- Cimex (BYD Nepal) – ATTO 1 (warranty)
- Nepali Times – BYD warranties (19 April 2025)
- MG Motors Nepal – MG4 EV, MG S5 EV and MG S6 EV (warranty)
- Leapmotor Nepal – Warranty (T03, B10, C10)
- Dongfeng Nepal – Extended warranty (Nammi Box and Vigo)
- iCAUR Nepal – Warranty (V23)
- Wuling Nepal – Mini EV (warranty)
- Suzuki Nepal – e VITARA (LFP battery warranty)
- LRR Motors – Skywell (warranty)
- Maxus Nepal – eDeliver 5 (battery and motor warranty)
- Ather Energy Nepal – Rizta and 450 (warranty); Warranty Policy PDF
- Yatri Motorcycles – P2 (battery warranty)
- Chetak Nepal – Chetak C3501 (warranty)
- Yadea Nepal – GT70 and Keeness (battery and motor warranty)
- NIU Nepal – FQiX 300 (battery warranty)
#ev#battery#warranty#cars#scooters#buying-guide