Deepal S05 in Nepal: price, range, variants and rivals
Wheels of Nepal · Last updated: · 9 min read
The Deepal S05 costs Rs 57,99,000 (Plus) or Rs 62,99,000 (Max) in Nepal (indicative ex-showroom), and both variants share a 56.1 kWh LFP battery with a claimed 470 km NEDC range.
The Deepal S05 is a five-seat electric SUV from Changan's Deepal brand. In Nepal it is sold by MAW Vriddhi, which also sells Changan and Dongfeng Nammi. It has a single rear motor, a 56.1 kWh battery and two variants, Plus and Max. This guide sets out what the official Nepal sources say about price, range, charging and warranty. It also works out a running cost and lists the rivals to compare it with.
One note before we start: we have not driven the S05. Everything below comes from the distributor's own pages and from news reports, and we say where a figure is missing.
Deepal S05 price in Nepal
These are the indicative ex-showroom prices on the official site (checked October 2026). The price list is dated 19 September 2026 and says prices include VAT.
| Variant | Battery | Indicative ex-showroom price |
|---|---|---|
| S05 Plus | 56.1 kWh | Rs 57,99,000 |
| S05 Max | 56.1 kWh | Rs 62,99,000 |
The Max costs Rs 5 lakh more than the Plus, but both variants have the same battery and motor. The official specification page does not split the equipment list by variant. It does show some items as two options, such as "8 or 14 speakers" and "2 or 4 zone" climate control, which suggests those are where the variants differ. Ask the showroom for a written list of what the Max adds before you pay the extra.
Prices for electric cars in Nepal changed shape after the FY 2026/27 budget switched EV taxes from motor power to customs value. Our EV tax explainer covers how that works. Registration and insurance come on top; see our guide to road tax and insurance.
Battery, range and charging
| Item | Deepal S05 (both variants) |
|---|---|
| Battery | 56.1 kWh, lithium iron phosphate (LFP) |
| Claimed range | 470 km (NEDC) |
| Motor | 99 kW (134 PS), 320 Nm, rear-wheel drive |
| AC charging | up to 7 kW |
| DC fast charging | up to 151.5 kW; 30% to 80% in 15 minutes (claimed) |
| Vehicle-to-load (V2L) | 6 kW |
Two points matter here.
The range is an NEDC figure. NEDC is an older and gentler lab test than WLTP, so NEDC numbers usually come out higher. That makes the S05's 470 km hard to compare directly with rivals rated on WLTP. Real range also falls on hills, at higher speeds and with the air conditioning on.
The 15-minute charge needs a matching charger. The claimed 30–80% time assumes a DC fast charger that can supply high power. Many public chargers in Nepal deliver less than 151.5 kW, and the charge will take longer on those. At home, the 7 kW AC limit is what counts. Our EV charging guide explains home wiring and public charging.
The Himalayan Times reported in November 2025 that the S05 uses CATL's "Golden Shield" battery system, and that the brand said it had passed 200 sales within weeks of its Nepal launch.
Size, space and features we can confirm
From the official specification page:
- Dimensions: 4,620 mm long, 1,900 mm wide, 1,600 mm tall, with a 2,880 mm wheelbase.
- Wheels: 18-inch alloys with 235/60 R18 tyres.
- Seats: five, with a 60:40 split-folding rear seat.
- Storage: a 159-litre front boot (frunk). The rear boot volume is not listed.
- Not listed: ground clearance, top speed and 0–100 km/h time. Ask for these if they matter to you, especially ground clearance for rough roads.
Equipment named on the specification page includes:
- a 15.4-inch touchscreen, a head-up display with AR navigation, and wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto
- a panoramic glass roof with an electric sunshade, and a power tailgate
- ventilated and heated front seats, and a 6-way power driver's seat with memory
- a 360-degree camera, front and rear parking sensors, and a dashcam (DVR)
- front, front-side and side-curtain airbags (the count is not stated), ABS, ESP, hill hold and hill descent control
- ADAS including adaptive cruise, lane centring, automatic emergency braking, blind-spot detection, rear cross-traffic alert and remote straight-in/out parking
Remember that this list does not say which items are on the Plus and which only on the Max.
Warranty
MAW Vriddhi's warranty page lists general terms for Deepal EVs. It notes that coverage "may vary by model", so confirm the S05's terms in writing.
| Part | Standard warranty | With extended warranty |
|---|---|---|
| Battery | 8 years / 2,40,000 km | 11 years / 3,00,000 km |
| Motor | 8 years / 1,50,000 km | 11 years / 2,00,000 km |
The extended cover has conditions. You must service only at authorised centres, follow the maintenance schedule and keep continuous comprehensive insurance with Shikhar Insurance. If you switch insurers, the extended warranty ends. The page does not publish its cost.
Running cost: the arithmetic
The NEA domestic tariff charges Rs 11 per unit above 250 units a month, and 5% VAT applies on household units above 50 a month. We use that top rate, Rs 11.55 per unit, as a cautious figure.
The S05's official numbers work out to about 11.9 kWh per 100 km (56.1 kWh ÷ 470 km). Real driving and charging losses will push that up, so we assume 18 kWh per 100 km at the plug. This is our assumption, not a test result.
| At 1,500 km a month | |
|---|---|
| Electricity used | 1,500 × 0.18 = 270 units |
| Monthly cost | 270 × Rs 11.55 = about Rs 3,120 |
| Cost per km | about Rs 2.08 |
| 5 years (90,000 km) | 16,200 units × Rs 11.55 = about Rs 1.87 lakh |
If your home rate is lower, or if you drive less, the cost falls. Run your own numbers in the EV charging cost calculator or the EV vs petrol calculator.
Paying for it: the loan limit
Nepal Rastra Bank caps private vehicle loans at 60% of the vehicle's value, for EVs and petrol cars alike. For the S05 that means:
- Plus: a maximum loan of Rs 34,79,400, so at least Rs 23,19,600 down.
- Max: a maximum loan of Rs 37,79,400, so at least Rs 25,19,600 down.
Interest rates vary by bank. Check the current rate and plug it into our EMI calculator. Our auto loan guide explains how banks set rates.
Rivals at a similar price
These electric SUVs sit within a few lakh of the S05. Prices are indicative ex-showroom figures from each official site (October 2026). Range figures use different tests, so compare them with care.
| Model | From (Rs) | Battery | Claimed range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deepal S05 | 57.99 lakh | 56.1 kWh | 470 km (NEDC) |
| BYD Atto 3 | 62.90 lakh | 49.92 / 60.48 kWh | 345 / 420 km (WLTP) |
| Wuling Eksion | 57.99 lakh | 69.2 kWh | 440 km (WLTP) |
| Omoda E5 | 56.99 lakh | 58.9 kWh | 430 km (cycle not stated) |
| Jaecoo J5 | 56.99 lakh | 58.9 kWh | 461 km (cycle not stated) |
| Mahindra BE 6 | 57.00 lakh | 59 kWh | 543 km (cycle not stated) |
| Suzuki e-Vitara | 52.99 lakh | 49 / 61 kWh | 440 / 543 km (cycle not stated) |
| Deepal S05 | 57.99 lakh |
|---|---|
| BYD Atto 3 | 62.9 lakh |
| Wuling Eksion | 57.99 lakh |
| Omoda E5 | 56.99 lakh |
| Jaecoo J5 | 56.99 lakh |
| Mahindra BE 6 | 57 lakh |
| Suzuki e-Vitara | 52.99 lakh |
Source: Indicative ex-showroom prices on each official Nepal site, October 2026 (table above)
| Deepal S05 | 56.1 kWh |
|---|---|
| BYD Atto 3 | 49.92 kWh |
| Wuling Eksion | 69.2 kWh |
| Omoda E5 | 58.9 kWh |
| Jaecoo J5 | 58.9 kWh |
| Mahindra BE 6 | 59 kWh |
| Suzuki e-Vitara | 49 kWh |
Source: Official Nepal sites, October 2026 (table above)
From the same distributor, the Changan Nevo Q05 costs less (from Rs 48.99 lakh, 51.9 kWh, 462 km NEDC). The larger Deepal S07 costs more; see our S07 guide.
To put two side by side, try S05 vs Atto 3 or S05 vs Eksion in our compare tool. We also wrote a full Deepal S05 vs BYD Atto 3 comparison. For the whole market, see the electric car price list.
Who the S05 suits
- Buyers who want fast-charging capability. The 151.5 kW peak and 15-minute 30–80% claim are strong on paper. They only help if you have chargers that can deliver that power on your routes.
- Buyers who want a long equipment list. The spec sheet includes a head-up display, a 360-degree camera, ventilated seats and a broad ADAS set. Confirm which of these come on the Plus.
- Less clear for: anyone who needs a confirmed ground clearance or rear boot size, as neither is published.
What to check before buying
- Variant equipment: get a written Plus vs Max list.
- Ground clearance and boot size: ask, and check the car in person with your own luggage.
- Warranty in writing: the S05's exact battery and motor terms, and the cost of the extended cover.
- Charging: whether a home charger is included, who installs it, and the nearest DC chargers on your routes.
- Service: the schedule and the cost of each visit at your nearest authorised centre.
- Delivery price: confirm the final price on the day, since the official list says prices can change without notice.
Sources
- Changan Nepal (MAW Vriddhi) – Deepal price list (as of 19 September 2026)
- Changan Nepal – Deepal S05 model page
- Changan Nepal – Deepal S05 specification
- Changan Nepal – Deepal extended warranty
- The Himalayan Times – Deepal S05 electric SUV launched in Birtamode (15 November 2025)
- Nepal Electricity Authority – Consumer tariff rates
- The Kathmandu Post – Households using over 50 electricity units to pay five percent VAT (18 July 2026)
- Business 360 – Monetary policy mid-term review: vehicle loan ratio set at 60% (26 February 2025)
#deepal#s05#electric-suv#ev#price#buying-guide