Honda Shine 125 vs SP 125 in Nepal: price, mileage, features — which is better?
Wheels of Nepal · Last updated: · 8 min read
The Honda SP 125 is the better-equipped bike and the Shine 125 is the cheaper one: both use the same 123.94 cc engine, and the SP costs Rs 13,000 more at each trim level (Rs 3,12,900 vs Rs 2,99,900 for the cheaper versions, indicative ex-showroom prices on the official Honda Nepal site, checked October 2026). The SP's extra money buys a full digital meter, an LED headlamp, a wider rear tyre and a slightly bigger tank.
Honda motorcycles are sold in Nepal by Syakar Company. This comparison uses Honda Nepal's own figures. We have not ridden either bike, so we say nothing about comfort or handling. Full spec sheets are on the Shine 125 and SP 125 pages.
Shine 125 vs SP 125 price in Nepal
| Version | Indicative ex-showroom price |
|---|---|
| Shine 125 DRS | Rs 2,99,900 |
| Shine 125 DSS | Rs 3,09,900 |
| SP 125 DRS | Rs 3,12,900 |
| SP 125 DSS | Rs 3,22,900 |
| Shine 125 DRS | 2,99,900 Rs |
|---|---|
| Shine 125 DSS | 3,09,900 Rs |
| SP 125 DRS | 3,12,900 Rs |
| SP 125 DSS | 3,22,900 Rs |
Source: Honda Nepal official model pages, October 2026
The Shine DSS and the SP DRS are only Rs 3,000 apart, so if you were going to buy the dearer Shine, the cheaper SP is worth a look. Registration, road tax and insurance come on top of all four prices.
Check the front brake. Both official pages list it as "Disc 240 mm, Drum 130 mm" without saying which version gets which. The names DSS and DRS suggest disc and drum, but Honda does not state it, so look at the bike you are paying for.
Specs side by side
| Spec | Shine 125 | SP 125 |
|---|---|---|
| Engine | 123.94 cc | 123.94 cc |
| Power | 7.9 kW | 8.0 kW |
| Torque | 11.0 Nm | 10.9 Nm |
| Gears | 5 | 5 |
| Fuel tank | 10.5 L | 11.2 L |
| Kerb weight | 113 kg | 116 kg |
| Ground clearance | 162 mm | 160 mm |
| Wheelbase | 1,285 mm | 1,285 mm |
| Length × width | 2,046 × 737 mm | 2,020 × 785 mm |
| Front tyre | 80/100-18, tubeless | 80/100-18, tubeless |
| Rear tyre | 80/100-18, tubeless | 100/80-18, tubeless (wider) |
| Rear suspension | Hydraulic | Hydraulic, 5-step adjustable |
| Braking aid | Not stated on the product page | CBS with equaliser |
| Headlamp | Halogen, DC | LED, DC |
| Meter | "All new meter design" (type not stated) | Full digital |
| Colours listed | Black | 5 colours |
On paper the engines are practically the same: 0.1 kW more power on the SP, 0.1 Nm more torque on the Shine. The differences are in equipment, tyres and size, not performance.
Size and practicality
The two share a 1,285 mm wheelbase, but the Shine is 26 mm longer and the SP is 48 mm wider, according to Honda's figures. The SP is also 3 kg heavier. Ground clearance is almost identical: 162 mm on the Shine and 160 mm on the SP, so neither has a real advantage over speed breakers or broken roads. With 10.5 and 11.2 litres of fuel, both tanks are large for a 125 cc commuter, so fuel stops will be infrequent on either bike.
What the SP 125's extra Rs 13,000 buys
From the two official product pages:
- Full digital meter showing real-time and average mileage, distance to empty, an eco indicator and a service-due reminder. The Shine page does not describe its meter as digital.
- LED headlamp instead of the Shine's halogen bulb.
- Wider rear tyre (100/80-18 against 80/100-18).
- Rear suspension with 5-step adjustment, useful if you often carry a pillion or luggage.
- CBS with equaliser is listed for the SP. Honda's 125 cc blog lists CBS for both bikes, but the Shine's product page does not mention it, so confirm.
- 0.7 litre bigger tank and a choice of five colours.
Both bikes list silent start (ACG) and a side-stand engine cut-off. The Shine page lists an engine start/stop switch; the SP page does not mention one.
What we like
- Shine 125: the lowest price, Rs 2,99,900 for the DRS
- Shine 125: 3 kg lighter and 2 mm more ground clearance than the SP
- SP 125: full digital meter with distance to empty and service reminder
- SP 125: LED headlamp, wider rear tyre and adjustable rear suspension
What could be better
- Shine 125: halogen headlamp, and only one colour listed
- SP 125: Rs 13,000 more at each trim level
Shine 125 vs SP 125 mileage
Neither product page gives a fuel-economy figure. Honda Nepal's own blog post on 125 cc bikes (July 2025) says both have a claimed figure of about 65 km/l, and gives a real-world range of 55–60 km/l for the Shine and 58–62 km/l for the SP. The same post also contains prices that differ from the current product pages, so treat its numbers as Honda's rough guide rather than a test result.
Using those real-world ranges and petrol at Rs 200 a litre (Nepal Oil Corporation, October 2026), our arithmetic gives:
| Shine 125 (55–60 km/l) | SP 125 (58–62 km/l) | |
|---|---|---|
| Fuel per km | Rs 3.33–3.64 | Rs 3.23–3.45 |
| Fuel per 1,000 km | Rs 3,330–3,640 | Rs 3,230–3,450 |
On those figures the running-cost difference is a few hundred rupees per 1,000 km, far smaller than the price gap would suggest either way. For bikes with an official mileage figure, see our highest-mileage bikes list.
EMI example
Lenders regulated by Nepal Rastra Bank can finance at most 60% of a private vehicle's price, so plan on 40% down. Honda names Syakar Hire Purchase as its finance partner but does not publish a rate. As an example only, we use 8.99% over 36 months, the rate Bajaj's finance partner announced in July 2026, as reported by The Himalayan Times:
| Shine 125 DRS | SP 125 DRS | SP 125 DSS | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Rs 2,99,900 | Rs 3,12,900 | Rs 3,22,900 |
| Down payment (40%) | Rs 1,19,960 | Rs 1,25,160 | Rs 1,29,160 |
| Loan (60%) | Rs 1,79,940 | Rs 1,87,740 | Rs 1,93,740 |
| EMI, 36 months at 8.99% | about Rs 5,720 | about Rs 5,970 | about Rs 6,160 |
The SP DRS costs about Rs 250 a month more than the Shine DRS on this example. Ask Syakar for its actual rate and fees, and try your own figures in the EMI calculator. Our bike and scooter loan guide covers documents and hire purchase.
Other 125 cc bikes to consider
| Model | Price from (official) | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Hero Xtreme 125R | Rs 2,98,900 | 66 km/l claimed (WMTC), the highest official figure in Nepal |
| TVS Raider 125 | Rs 2,79,900 | 124.8 cc, 9.49 kW |
| Yamaha Saluto 125 | Rs 2,84,900 | 125 cc, unified braking |
| Bajaj Pulsar 125 | Rs 3,14,900 | 124.38 cc, 8.68 kW |
Compare any two in the compare tool, or see every bike on our bike price list.
Which should you buy?
- Buy the Shine 125 if price matters most and you are happy with a halogen headlamp and a simpler meter. It is also marginally lighter.
- Buy the SP 125 if you want the digital meter's distance-to-empty and service reminder, an LED headlamp and the wider rear tyre, and Rs 13,000 is not a stretch.
- Either way, confirm the front brake, ask about warranty terms (neither page states them) and check the free-service schedule. Buying second-hand instead? Read how to buy a used bike. Other Honda models and prices are in our Honda bike and scooter price guide.
What is the price of the Honda Shine 125 in Nepal?
Rs 2,99,900 for the DRS and Rs 3,09,900 for the DSS (indicative ex-showroom, official Honda Nepal site, October 2026).
What is the price of the Honda SP 125 in Nepal?
Rs 3,12,900 for the DRS and Rs 3,22,900 for the DSS (official Honda Nepal site, October 2026).
Which has better mileage, Shine or SP 125?
Honda's product pages give no figure. Honda Nepal's blog quotes about 65 km/l claimed for both and real-world ranges of 55–60 km/l (Shine) and 58–62 km/l (SP).
Do the Shine 125 and SP 125 have the same engine?
Yes, both use a 123.94 cc engine with five gears. Honda lists 7.9 kW and 11 Nm for the Shine and 8 kW and 10.9 Nm for the SP.
Is the SP 125 worth Rs 13,000 more?
It adds a full digital meter, LED headlamp, wider rear tyre and adjustable rear suspension. If you value those, yes; if not, the Shine has the same engine for less.
Sources
- Honda Nepal (Syakar) – Shine 125 BS6: price, specifications and features
- Honda Nepal (Syakar) – SP 125 BS6: price, specifications and features
- Honda Nepal – Best 125cc bikes in Nepal: compare features, mileage and prices (7 July 2025)
- Honda Nepal (Syakar) – Financing facilities
- The Himalayan Times – Bajaj rolls out lower-EMI financing scheme, extends loan tenure to five years (20 July 2026)
- Business 360 – Monetary policy mid-term review: vehicle loan ratio set at 60% (26 February 2025)
- Hero MotoCorp Nepal – Xtreme 125R (66 km/l, WMTC)
- Official Nepal prices of other 125 cc rivals via our catalogue – HH Bajaj (Pulsar 125), TVS Nepal (Raider 125), MAW (Yamaha Saluto 125)
- Nepal Oil Corporation – retail fuel prices (petrol Rs 200 per litre)
#honda#honda-shine-125#honda-sp-125#motorcycles#commuter-bikes#comparison#mileage