Hyundai Creta Electric vs BYD Atto 3: the familiar name or the proven seller?
Wheels of Nepal · पछिल्लो अद्यावधिक: · ८ मिनेट पढ्न
हाम्रा लेखका नेपाली संस्करण छिट्टै आउँदैछन्। तलका लेख अंग्रेजीमा छन्। अंग्रेजीमा पढ्नुहोस् →
Pick the Hyundai Creta Electric (Rs 60.96 lakh) if you want a compact, well-equipped SUV from a brand you know and your driving is mostly in and around the city. Pick the BYD Atto 3 (Rs 62.90 lakh to Rs 78 lakh) if you want a bigger battery, a choice of two, and an 8-year warranty that Cimex states covers the vehicle as well as the battery. Prices are indicative ex-showroom prices on the official sites, checked October 2026.
The Creta name is well known in Nepal from the petrol model. Laxmi Intercontinental sells the electric version in one variant, the Executive Tech automatic. The Atto 3 is the car that built BYD's name here: New Business Age reported in August 2024 that more than 3,000 were already on Nepali roads within two years of launch. We have not driven either car, so this comparison sticks to the official numbers.
Price and variants
| Model and variant | Battery | Claimed range | Indicative ex-showroom price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hyundai Creta Electric Executive Tech (AT) | 42 kWh | 390 km (MIDC) | Rs 60,96,000 |
| BYD Atto 3 Advance | 49.92 kWh | 345 km (WLTP) | Rs 62,90,000 |
| BYD Atto 3 Superior | 60.48 kWh | 420 km (WLTP) | Rs 78,00,000 |
- Cheapest to cheapest: the Atto 3 Advance costs Rs 1.94 lakh more than the Creta Electric.
- Top to top: the Atto 3 Superior costs Rs 17.04 lakh more. For that you get 18.48 kWh more battery than the Creta.
Hyundai's price list dates from 11 August 2026 and is labelled MRP. Atto 3 prices have risen since launch. At its 2024 launch, New Business Age reported Rs 56.9 lakh for the Advance and Rs 67.8 lakh for the Superior. For how this year's budget changed EV taxes, see our FY 2026/27 EV tax guide.
Range, battery and charging
The Creta's 42 kWh battery is the smallest here. Battery size is the fairest comparison, because the two brands use different range tests:
| Creta Electric | 42 kWh |
|---|---|
| Atto 3 Advance | 49.92 kWh |
| Atto 3 Superior | 60.48 kWh |
Source: Laxmi Intercontinental (Hyundai) specification page and Cimex (BYD) Atto 3 page and price list, checked October 2026
Why 390 km does not beat 345 km. Hyundai quotes the Creta's 390 km "as per MIDC Part 1 + Part 2", under ARAI certification. That is India's test cycle. Researchers at IIT Kanpur, writing in Down To Earth, describe it as equivalent to Europe's old NEDC, with a top speed of just 90 km/h. BYD quotes WLTP, a longer and faster test. When Europe swapped NEDC for WLTP, the European Commission's Joint Research Centre found electric range came out at about 0.8 times the NEDC figure. So the Creta's 390 km and the Atto 3's 345 km are not on the same scale. On battery size, the Atto 3 Advance has about 19% more energy on board. Our range test explainer covers the details.
| Creta Electric | Atto 3 | |
|---|---|---|
| Motor | 99 kW (135 PS) | 100 kW, 310 Nm |
| Torque | not published | 310 Nm |
| AC charging | 10–100% in about 4 h on an 11 kW charger | not stated on the Nepal site |
| DC fast charging | 10–80% in 58 min on a 50 kW charger | 0–80% in 50 min (charger power not stated) |
| Battery type | liquid-cooled lithium-ion | not stated on the Nepal site |
| Charging standard | CCS2 | not stated on the Nepal site |
The charging times also measure different windows (10–80% against 0–80%), so they are not a straight contest either. Hyundai's figures are tied to the charger's rating, not necessarily the car's maximum.
Space, features and safety we can confirm
| Creta Electric | Atto 3 | |
|---|---|---|
| Length × width × height | 4,340 × 1,790 × 1,655 mm | not stated on the Nepal site |
| Wheelbase | 2,610 mm | not stated on the Nepal site |
| Ground clearance | not published | 175 mm |
| Boot | not published | 434 L |
| Tyres | 215/60 R17 | not checked |
| Airbags | 6 | not stated on the Nepal site |
| ADAS | "Level 2" SmartSense: 16 listed functions incl. collision avoidance, lane following, smart cruise with stop & go, blind-spot view monitor | adaptive cruise control with stop & go |
| Sunroof | panoramic (voice-enabled) | panoramic |
| Touchscreen | size not published | 15.6-inch |
| Other | V2L, Bose 8-speaker audio, digital key, surround-view monitor | 5 seats |
The Creta's official pages list more driver aids than the Atto 3's Nepal page. That does not prove the Atto 3 lacks them, only that Cimex lists fewer. The Atto 3 publishes boot space and ground clearance; Hyundai's Nepal pages publish neither for the Creta Electric. Take your own luggage to both showrooms.
Running cost and EMI
Neither brand publishes an official efficiency figure that lets us separate the two cars. So we use the same cautious assumption for both: 18 kWh per 100 km at the plug, charged at the NEA domestic top block of Rs 11 plus 5% VAT (Rs 11.55 per unit). At 1,500 km a month that is 270 units, or about Rs 3,120 a month for either car. The Creta carries a smaller battery and may use a little less, but we have no official figure to prove it.
| Creta Electric | Atto 3 Advance | Atto 3 Superior | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Down payment (40%) | Rs 24,38,400 | Rs 25,16,000 | Rs 31,20,000 |
| Loan (60%) | Rs 36,57,600 | Rs 37,74,000 | Rs 46,80,000 |
| EMI, 5 years at 7.90% | about Rs 74,000 | about Rs 76,300 | about Rs 94,700 |
Over five years, the Rs 1.94 lakh price gap between the Creta and the Atto 3 Advance adds only about Rs 2,350 a month to the EMI.
Warranty and service network
- BYD Atto 3: Cimex states 8 years or 1,60,000 km for the battery and the vehicle, with terms and exclusions.
- Hyundai Creta Electric: we could not find warranty terms on the Laxmi Intercontinental pages we checked. Ask for the warranty booklet before you pay a deposit. Our EV battery warranty guide lists what to ask.
Both networks are wide. Hyundai's dealer pages list 16 showrooms and 17 service centres. Cimex lists 16 showroom locations and 16 service points. Each network covers 15 cities. Visit the workshop nearest your home with either car in mind.
Which one should you buy?
- If your budget stops near Rs 61 lakh and you mostly drive in the valley, the Creta Electric is the cheaper way in, with a long official list of driver aids.
- If you want the most battery per rupee at this price, the Atto 3 Advance gives you 7.92 kWh more for Rs 1.94 lakh more.
- If you often drive Kathmandu to Pokhara or Chitwan, look at the Atto 3 Superior's 60.48 kWh and 420 km WLTP, if the Rs 78 lakh price works for you.
- If written warranty cover decides it for you, the Atto 3's published 8-year battery-and-vehicle terms are clearer today. Ask Hyundai for theirs and compare.
Neither car wins on things we cannot measure from data, such as comfort, build quality or resale. Book test drives of both.
Also consider, at a similar price:
Compare them in the compare tool, or read Deepal S05 vs BYD Atto 3. Every option is on the electric car price list.
स्रोतहरू
- Laxmi Intercontinental (Hyundai Nepal) – price list, w.e.f. 11 August 2026
- Laxmi Intercontinental – Creta Electric specification
- Laxmi Intercontinental – Creta Electric safety
- Laxmi Intercontinental – Creta Electric convenience
- Laxmi Intercontinental – find a dealer and service centres
- Cimex (BYD Nepal) – BYD Atto 3 model page
- Cimex (BYD Nepal) – price list
- Cimex – find a dealer and service network
- New Business Age – BYD Atto 3 2024 officially launched in Nepal (26 August 2024)
- Down To Earth – Measuring emissions from vehicles in the real world: policy steps in India (R. Singh and M. Sharma, IIT Kanpur, 10 January 2022)
- European Commission Joint Research Centre – From NEDC to WLTP: effect on the type-approval CO2 emissions of light-duty vehicles (2017)
- Nepal Electricity Authority – Consumer tariff rates
- The Kathmandu Post – Households using over 50 electricity units to pay five percent VAT (18 July 2026)
- Nepal Bank Limited – Interest rates (effective Kartik 1, 2083)
- Business 360 – Monetary policy mid-term review: vehicle loan ratio set at 60% (26 February 2025)
#hyundai#creta-electric#byd#atto-3#electric-suv#comparison#ev