Electric vehicles

Chinese EV brands in Nepal: who sells them, warranties and service networks

Wheels of Nepal · Last updated: · 9 min read

BYD ATTO 3 (official photo)
Image: BYD official

There is no single "best" Chinese EV brand in Nepal, but there are big differences in what stands behind each badge here. On the official pages we checked in October 2026, BYD, MG and Omoda/Jaecoo list the widest showroom and service networks, and Deepal, Dongfeng, Omoda/Jaecoo and iCaur publish the longest battery warranties.

71%of electric four-wheelers imported in the first seven months of FY 2025/26 came from China (Rising Nepal, customs data)
13,338 of 16,701EVs in FY 2024/25 were Chinese (Kathmandu Post, customs data)
16 + 16BYD showrooms and service points listed by Cimex
11 yearslongest battery warranty offered (Deepal, Omoda/Jaecoo, iCaur, Dongfeng; conditions apply)

When you buy an EV in Nepal, you are not dealing with the Chinese factory. You are dealing with its Nepali distributor: the company that imports the car, sets the price, honours the warranty and runs (or appoints) the workshops. The same company often handles several brands. So the most useful question is not "which country?" but "who sells it here, what do they promise in writing, and how close is their nearest workshop?"

This guide answers that for every Chinese EV car brand in our catalogue. Warranty terms come from each distributor's own website. Showroom and service counts come from our dealer directory, which is built from the official dealer pages (and, where a brand publishes none, from general news reports, as noted below). We have not rated build quality or reliability, because no official data on that exists for Nepal.

Who sells which brand in Nepal

Several large business groups each hold a cluster of Chinese brands:

Brand Nepal distributor EV models in our catalogue Indicative ex-showroom price range (official, Oct 2026)
BYD (see BYD prices) Cimex Inc 7 (Atto 1 to Seal) Rs 30.75 lakh to Rs 1.95 crore
MG (see MG prices) Paramount Motors 5 Rs 41.49 lakh to Rs 1.11 crore
Deepal and Changan MAW Vriddhi 5 + 1 Rs 48.99 lakh to Rs 1.10 crore
Dongfeng Nammi, Seres, Foton MAW Vriddhi group 2, 2, 3 (Foton vans and pickup) Rs 17.49 lakh to Rs 69.99 lakh
Omoda/Jaecoo and iCaur SPG Automobiles 5 + 1 Rs 51.99 lakh to Rs 71.99 lakh
Zeekr Pioneer MotoCorp 1 Rs 84.99 lakh to Rs 1.54 crore
Leapmotor Shangrila Motors 4 Rs 34 lakh to Rs 72 lakh
Wuling (price guide) Paramount Motors 3 on sale Rs 20.99 lakh to Rs 59.99 lakh
Geely, Skywell, JY, BAW LRR Motors 1 each Rs 22.99 lakh to Rs 72.99 lakh
GWM VG Impex 2 Rs 46.99 lakh to Rs 60 lakh
Kaiyi GO Automobiles 3 Rs 22.96 lakh to Rs 45.96 lakh
Maxus Himalaya Motrox 3 (MPV, van, pickup) Rs 69.50 lakh to Rs 1.28 crore

MG is often thought of as British. The brand began in Britain, but MG's own European site describes it as one of the car brands of Shanghai-based SAIC Motor. We include it here for that reason.

A practical point: brands under one distributor tend to share workshops. SPG lists the same after-sales network for Omoda/Jaecoo and iCaur, and Zeekr's distributor publishes the same list of service centres. Several MAW Vriddhi dealers sell both Dongfeng and Seres.

Showrooms and service points

This is the figure buyers outside Kathmandu should look at first. A workshop that can lift the car, read its battery data and fit parts matters more than a showroom.

Service points listed for each brand (count)
Service points listed for each brand (count)
BYD16
MG14
Zeekr14
Omoda/Jaecoo13
Wuling4
Deepal2
Leapmotor1
GWM1

Source: Wheels of Nepal dealer directory, built from each distributor's official dealer and service pages (Deepal: news reports), checked October 2026

What the official pages show, brand by brand:

  • BYD (Cimex): 16 sales locations and 16 service points across 15 cities in six provinces, from Itahari and Birtamode in the east to Dhangadhi in the far west. It is the most complete official list we found.
  • MG (Paramount Motors): 14 showrooms and 14 service points in 15 towns. The site says every MG dealer is authorised for service.
  • Omoda/Jaecoo (SPG): 17 showrooms and 13 service centres in 16 cities across all seven provinces, including Surkhet. iCaur uses the same dealers. Prices and specs for the five Omoda and Jaecoo models are in our price guide.
  • Zeekr (Pioneer MotoCorp): one Kathmandu showroom but 14 listed service centres, the shared SPG network.
  • Dongfeng Nammi, Seres and Foton: 13, 10 and 15 dealer locations. Their pages do not say which of them carry out repairs, so ask before you rely on one.
  • Deepal and Changan: MAW Vriddhi's site gives only a head office and hotlines. The seven showrooms in our directory come from news reports of openings (Kathmandu, Bhaktapur, Pokhara, Birgunj, Itahari, Birtamode), and only two service sites are confirmed.
  • Leapmotor, GWM, Geely, Skywell, JY, BAW, Kaiyi and Maxus: one or two listed locations each, mostly in Kathmandu. GWM's site has no dealer list at all; our two GWM entries (Thapathali and a Chakupat workshop) come from older news reports.
Buying a car is a long-term commitment, which is why after-sales service is important.
Feng Erdong, BYD Asia Pacific head of after-sales, to The Kathmandu Post (October 2026)

Our counts measure what each distributor publishes, not how good each workshop is. A smaller brand may still look after you well in Kathmandu. But if you live in Nepalgunj or Dhangadhi, a brand with no listed workshop there means a long tow when something goes wrong. Check the dealer directory for your district before you book a car.

Warranties: what the official pages promise

Every figure below is from the distributor's own website. "Whichever comes first" applies to all of them: the cover ends at the year limit or the kilometre limit, whichever you reach first.

Brand Battery Motor Whole vehicle
BYD 8 years / 1,60,000 km on most models; Atto 2: 6 years / 1,50,000 km included in "battery and vehicle" same as battery
Deepal / Changan 8 years / 2,40,000 km; extendable to 11 years / 3,00,000 km 8 years / 1,50,000 km; extendable to 11 years / 2,00,000 km not stated
Omoda/Jaecoo, iCaur 8 years / 1,80,000 km; extendable to 11 years / 2,40,000 km 8 years / 1,60,000 km; extendable to 11 years / 2,00,000 km not stated
Dongfeng Nammi 8 years / 2,00,000 km; paid option 11 years / 2,50,000 km same as battery not stated
Leapmotor 8 years / 1,50,000–1,60,000 km not stated separately 3–4 years / 1,00,000 km
Wuling 8 years / 1,50,000 km 8 years / 1,50,000 km not stated
MG 8 years / 1,50,000 km 5 years / 1,00,000 km (S6); other high-voltage parts 3 years / 1,00,000 km (MG4, S5) 1 year
Maxus (eDeliver 5) 8 years 5 years not stated
GWM, Geely, Zeekr, Seres, Kaiyi not published on the Nepal site not published not published
Standard battery warranty, kilometre limit (8 years for all)
Standard battery warranty, kilometre limit (8 years for all)
Deepal / Changan2,40,000 km
Dongfeng Nammi2,00,000 km
Omoda/Jaecoo, iCaur1,80,000 km
BYD (most models)1,60,000 km
Leapmotor T03, C101,60,000 km
MG1,50,000 km
Wuling1,50,000 km

Source: Official warranty pages of each Nepal distributor, checked October 2026 (standard cover, before paid or conditional extensions)

Read the conditions on the 11-year offers

The longest warranties come with strings. MAW Vriddhi's Deepal extension is issued only with a Shikhar Insurance comprehensive policy, and both must stay active for the whole period; switching insurer ends it. SPG's 11-year programme for Omoda/Jaecoo and iCaur also runs through an insurer and depends on keeping the policy. Dongfeng's 11-year cover is a paid option. All of them require servicing at authorised workshops on schedule.

Also note that some brands quote a short whole-vehicle warranty. MG's is one year, with longer cover for the battery and motor. That is not unusual, but it means repairs to other parts (suspension, screens, air-conditioning) may be paid by you after year one. Our EV battery warranty guide explains what is and is not usually covered.

How to judge a brand before you buy

Price lists and range claims are easy to compare. These are the things buyers often skip:

  1. Find your nearest workshop, not your nearest showroom. Look up the brand in our dealer directory and phone the service centre to ask whether it handles the model you want.
  2. Ask how long parts take. No distributor publishes parts lead times. Ask what happens if a part has to come from China, and whether a courtesy car is offered.
  3. Ask about fast charging. Some distributors run their own chargers; others rely on public stations. See our EV charging guide.
  4. Check how long the brand has been here. Older brands have more owners and a track record. BYD's after-sales team told The Kathmandu Post in October 2026 that 11,000 BYD vehicles have been delivered in Nepal; MAW Vriddhi reported over 950 Deepal EVs in their first 18 months, and SPG over 800 Omoda/Jaecoo cars in the first year. Newer brands may be just as good, but there is less to go on.
  5. Compare like with like. Range claims use different test cycles (WLTP, NEDC or the brand's own), so line up the official spec sheets in our compare tool.

The brands with the biggest choice

If you want a wide lineup and a large network, these three distributors stand out on the official data. Prices shown are live from our catalogue.

For a shortlist by budget, see the electric car price list, our best EVs under Rs 40 lakh and best electric SUVs under Rs 60 lakh. And since every one of these cars is imported, the FY 2026/27 EV tax changes shape their prices more than the badge does.

Sources

  1. The Rising Nepal – EV imports slow in Nepal after years of strong growth (22 February 2026, citing Department of Customs)
  2. The Kathmandu Post – China's dominance in Nepal EV market leaves India trailing (11 August 2025)
  3. The Kathmandu Post – BYD after-sales chiefs outline plans for EV ecosystem in Nepal (16 October 2026)
  4. Cimex (BYD Nepal) – Find a dealer
  5. Cimex (BYD Nepal) – Service network
  6. Cimex (BYD Nepal) – model pages with warranty (Atto 3, Atto 2, Dolphin)
  7. MG Motor Nepal – Our dealers
  8. MG Motor Nepal – Service centres
  9. MG Motor Nepal – MG S5 EV (warranty terms)
  10. MG Motor Ireland – FAQ (MG is a brand of SAIC Motor)
  11. Changan Nepal (MAW Vriddhi) – Extended warranty (Deepal and Changan)
  12. Changan Nepal – Contact us (head office)
  13. Omoda & Jaecoo Nepal (SPG Automobiles) – 11-year warranty press release (8 April 2026)
  14. Omoda & Jaecoo Nepal – Dealers
  15. Omoda & Jaecoo Nepal – Service network
  16. iCaur Nepal – Warranty
  17. Dongfeng Nepal – Extended warranty
  18. Dongfeng Nepal – Our network
  19. Leapmotor Nepal – Warranty
  20. Wuling Nepal – Eksion (warranty terms) and service centres
  21. Zeekr Nepal – Zeekr X service centres
  22. Seres Nepal – Contact us (dealer locations)
  23. Maxus Nepal – eDeliver 5 (warranty)
  24. LRR Motors – Geely, Skywell, JY and BAW pages
  25. B360 – GWM Nepal starts after-sales service facility in Lalitpur
  26. Fiscal Nepal – MAW Vriddhi unveils next-gen Deepal S07 (3 August 2025): over 950 Deepal EVs in 18 months
  27. B360 – SPG Automobiles celebrates first anniversary of Omoda & Jaecoo in Nepal (over 800 sold)

#ev#chinese-ev#byd#deepal#mg#omoda-jaecoo#leapmotor#warranty#service-network#buying-guide

Related articles

Electric cars in Nepal

See all →

Latest articles