Servicing an electric car in Nepal: schedules and free-service offers by brand
Wheels of Nepal · पछिल्लो अद्यावधिक: · ७ मिनेट पढ्न
हाम्रा लेखका नेपाली संस्करण छिट्टै आउँदैछन्। तलका लेख अंग्रेजीमा छन्। अंग्रेजीमा पढ्नुहोस् →
An electric car in Nepal still needs regular servicing at an authorised workshop, even without engine oil or spark plugs, because almost every brand's warranty depends on it. No distributor publishes EV service prices, so the practical way to control the cost is to get the schedule and any free-service offer in writing when you buy.
"What does an EV cost to service?" is one of the first questions buyers ask, and the honest answer in Nepal is that the distributors do not say. What they do publish, on their warranty pages and in campaign announcements, is enough to plan with. This guide pulls it together. For the battery warranty itself, see our EV battery warranty guide, and for what a battery costs if it ever fails, EV battery replacement cost.
What an EV service actually involves
An electric car has no engine oil, oil filter, spark plugs, clutch or exhaust to look after. It still has brakes, tyres, suspension, a cooling system for the battery, an air-conditioner, a 12-volt battery and a lot of software.
iCAUR Nepal's service page gives a good picture of a routine EV visit:
- Regular maintenance: inspections, battery health checks, software updates, filter replacements and tyre rotation
- EV-specific work: electric drive diagnostics, charging-system maintenance and battery service
What the warranty does not pay for
Wear items are your cost, under warranty or not. Dongfeng Nepal's warranty page lists the consumables it excludes:
| Usually your cost (Dongfeng Nepal's list) |
|---|
| Brake shoes and brake pads |
| Wiper blades, windscreen and other glass |
| Bulbs and fuses |
| Filter elements |
| Brake fluid, grease and coolant |
| Battery electrolyte and A/C refrigerant |
MG Nepal's extended-warranty terms similarly exclude consumables such as tyres, brake pads and wiper blades. Budget for these from the second or third year.
Schedules: ask for yours in writing
None of the Nepal distributors whose pages we checked publishes a service interval (every so many km or months) on its website. Leapmotor Nepal's warranty page, for example, requires servicing to the "Leapmotor maintenance schedule" and says missed servicing is excluded from battery cover, but does not print the schedule itself.
Intervals may also differ from other countries. In an October 2026 interview with The Kathmandu Post, BYD's after-sales chief Feng Erdong said Nepal's road conditions may call for different maintenance requirements and service intervals than in other markets.
Brand by brand: what the official pages and news say
| Brand (distributor) | Servicing and warranty rules | Free-service or care offer we found |
|---|---|---|
| BYD (Cimex) | 13 service centres in August 2026, three more planned | "Care+" campaign, Aug 2026: inspection, diagnostics and servicing support, 10% off battery covers, spare tyres and dent-paint, free home-charger check. Earlier "0-5-10" offer included 5 years of free servicing for bookings until Baisakh 31, 2082 (ended) |
| Hyundai (Laxmi Intercontinental) | Three-year warranty in the 2026 campaign | Festive Drive 2083: six years of free servicing for Hyundai vehicles; what it covers is not stated |
| MG (Paramount Motors) | Extended warranty needs authorised servicing on schedule, genuine parts, records and continuous insurance | 2026 festive offer: free insurance and road tax on selected EVs; roadside assistance service. No free servicing mentioned |
| Deepal / Changan (MAW Vriddhi) | Extended warranty needs authorised servicing, the recommended schedule, genuine parts, records and continuous Shikhar Insurance cover | Deepal S07 launch, Aug 2025: "zero ownership cost for 5 years" including free periodic servicing; current status not stated |
| Dongfeng (MAW Vriddhi) | Same rules as Deepal; repairs at unauthorised workshops excluded | None found |
| Leapmotor | Servicing to Leapmotor's schedule with approved parts and fluids; full records | None found for servicing (April 2026 "Leap Care" was a warranty and finance offer) |
| iCAUR (SPG Automobiles) | Extended warranty needs authorised servicing, schedule, genuine parts and records | None found |
| Tata | Not stated on the pages we checked | Aug 2026 carnival: free DC fast charging, one-year tax waiver, free home-charger installation; servicing not mentioned |
Offers change with every festival and auto show, so treat this table as a guide to what to ask for, not a promise.
| Hyundai, festive 2083 (current) | 6 years |
|---|---|
| BYD '0-5-10' (ended May 2025) | 5 years |
| Deepal S07 launch (Aug 2025) | 5 years |
Source: ShareSansar (Hyundai, 14 Sep 2026; BYD, 24 Apr 2025); Fiscal Nepal (Deepal S07, 3 Aug 2025). BYD's offer has ended; Deepal's status is not stated
Why skipping a service can cost you the battery warranty
Most extended EV warranties in Nepal come with conditions that tie them to the dealer's workshop. Changan Nepal, Dongfeng Nepal and iCAUR Nepal list almost the same rules: service only at authorised centres, follow the recommended schedule, use genuine parts and keep records. Changan and Dongfeng add that the extended cover needs a continuous comprehensive policy with Shikhar Insurance, and that switching insurers ends it. MG's extended programme also asks for continuous insurance.
So the real "cost" of skipping a dealer service is not the few thousand rupees you save. It is the risk of losing cover on the most expensive part of the car.
Where you can get it serviced
Service networks are growing but still thin outside the big cities:
- BYD: Cimex listed 13 centres in August 2026, in Dhangadhi, Nepalgunj, Dang, Butwal, Pokhara, Chitwan, Lalitpur, Kathmandu, Birgunj, Janakpur, Itahari, Biratnagar and Birtamode, with Bhaktapur, Dallu and Lahan planned.
- Omoda & Jaecoo and iCAUR (SPG Automobiles): the Omoda & Jaecoo service booking page lists 10 workshops, from Kathmandu and Bhaktapur to Birgunj, Butwal, Nepalgunj, Chitwan, Dhangadhi, Pokhara and Itahari; iCAUR's page names some of the same partners.
- MG: runs a roadside assistance service inside and outside the Kathmandu Valley.
Ask how far your nearest authorised workshop is, whether it has trained EV technicians, and how long parts take. BYD's Feng Erdong told The Kathmandu Post the company wants faster parts delivery and advance stocking to cut waiting times.
We are building an entire ecosystem for the EV market in Nepal.
Questions to ask before you buy
- What is the service schedule, in km and months?
- What does each scheduled service cost, for the first five years?
- Does the free-service offer cover labour, parts and fluids, and for how many visits?
- Where is the nearest authorised workshop, and is there roadside help?
- Which software updates are included, and are they done at the workshop or over the air?
- What must I do to keep the battery warranty valid, and is it tied to one insurer?
Servicing is only one part of the running cost. Electricity is usually the biggest; work it out with the EV charging cost calculator, or compare a whole ownership cycle with petrol in our EV vs petrol cost guide and the EV vs petrol cost calculator. For every model on sale, see the electric car price list.
स्रोतहरू
- The Kathmandu Post – BYD after-sales chiefs outline plans for EV ecosystem in Nepal (16 October 2026)
- The Himalayan Times – BYD Nepal launches nationwide customer care campaign (11 August 2026)
- ShareSansar – BYD Nepal launches '0-5-10' New Year offer with free servicing (24 April 2025)
- ShareSansar – Hyundai Nepal festive campaign: three-year warranty and six years of free servicing (14 September 2026)
- Fiscal Nepal – MAW Vriddhi unveils Deepal S07 with 'zero ownership cost for 5 years' offer (3 August 2025)
- Changan Nepal (MAW Vriddhi) – Extended warranty: rules for Deepal and Changan
- Dongfeng Nepal (MAW Vriddhi) – Extended warranty: rules and exclusions
- MG Motor Nepal (Paramount Motors) – MG Extended Warranty Program (15 May 2026)
- MG Motor Nepal – Festive offer 'Drive More, Celebrate More' (22 September 2026)
- MG Motor Nepal – Roadside assistance service (7 October 2026)
- Leapmotor Nepal – Warranty (maintenance schedule and service records)
- Business 360 – Leapmotor launches Leap Care in Nepal: 11-year battery warranty and finance offer (15 April 2026)
- iCAUR Nepal – Services
- iCAUR Nepal – Warranty
- Omoda & Jaecoo Nepal – Service booking (service centre list)
- Ekantipur – Tata carnival from Thursday (19 August 2026)
#ev#servicing#maintenance#warranty#byd#hyundai#mg#deepal#ownership