Electric vehicles

BYD Atto 1 vs Wuling Binguo: which small EV fits a Nepali family?

Wheels of Nepal · Last updated: · 7 min read

Wuling Binguo (official photo)
Image: Wuling official

Pick the BYD Atto 1 if you want to buy now: it is on sale at Rs 30.75 lakh (Dynamic) and Rs 34.80 lakh (Premium), indicative ex-showroom prices on the official Cimex site (checked October 2026), with a published warranty and a nationwide dealer network. Wait for the updated Wuling Binguo if its announced 37.9 kWh battery and bigger cargo space appeal to you, but only decide once Wuling publishes a price: its official site still says "Coming Soon".

BYD ATTO 1BYD ATTO 1Rs 30.75 lakh – Rs 34.8 lakhvsWuling BinguoWuling BinguoRs 31.99 lakhCompare side by side →

Both are small five-door electric hatchbacks aimed at first-time EV buyers, and both are built by Chinese makers with local distributors: Cimex for BYD and Paramount Motors for Wuling. The Binguo first went on sale in Nepal in May 2024. Paramount said in June 2026 that an updated version would return with two battery sizes. This comparison uses each distributor's official figures and, where those are missing, news reports, clearly labelled. We have not driven either car, so we do not compare how they drive.

Rs 30.75 lakhAtto 1 starting price (official, Oct 2026)
Coming soonnew Binguo, no price on the official site
16 vs 1sales outlets in our dealer directory, BYD vs Wuling

Price and variants

BYD Atto 1 Wuling Binguo (updated)
Status on sale "Coming Soon" on the official site
Variants Dynamic, Premium two batteries announced: 31.9 kWh and 37.9 kWh
Price Rs 30,75,000 / Rs 34,80,000 not announced
Earlier version's price — May 2024 launch: Rs 31.99 lakh (Artha Kendra) or Rs 32.99 lakh (OnlineKhabar)

The earlier Binguo's launch price is a reference point only: the reports disagree, it is two years old, and electric-car taxes have since changed with the FY 2026/27 budget (see our EV tax explainer). The Atto 1 itself rose by about Rs 1.8 lakh between its August 2025 launch and today. Do not assume the new Binguo will cost what the old one did.

Range, battery and charging

Claimed range by battery (km)
Claimed range by battery (km)
Atto 1 Dynamic, 30.08 kWh (WLTP)230 km
Atto 1 Premium, 38.88 kWh (WLTP)300 km
Binguo 31.9 kWh (test not named)333 km
Binguo 37.9 kWh (test not named)410 km

Source: Atto 1: Cimex, WLTP. Binguo: Wuling Nepal news, 28 June 2026, test standard not named

Atto 1 Dynamic / Premium Binguo 31.9 / 37.9 kWh
Battery 30.08 / 38.88 kWh 31.9 / 37.9 kWh
Claimed range 230 / 300 km, WLTP 333 / up to 410 km, test not named
Motor 45 kW, 135 Nm 50 kW, 150 Nm (2024 version)
Charging "charging power" 30 / 40 kW, AC or DC not stated CCS2 DC, 30–80% in about 35 minutes

Be careful with the range bars. The Atto 1's figures are WLTP. Wuling did not name a test for the Binguo. Several brands in Nepal quote China's CLTC cycle instead (Dongfeng's Nammi Box, for example), and it reads higher: Wuling quotes its own Eksion SUV at 530 km on CLTC but 440 km on WLTP. Until Wuling names the test, the Binguo's 333 and 410 km cannot be compared directly with the Atto 1's numbers.

Battery size is a fairer guide. The Binguo's bigger option (37.9 kWh) is slightly smaller than the Atto 1 Premium's 38.88 kWh, and its smaller option (31.9 kWh) is slightly bigger than the Atto 1 Dynamic's 30.08 kWh. On paper, they are closely matched.

Space, features and safety we can confirm

BYD Atto 1 Wuling Binguo
Seats not stated by Cimex 5 (2024 version, Artha Kendra)
Cargo space not published 790 litres (announced for the updated car)
Ground clearance 175 mm 165 mm (2024 version)
Airbags 4 (Dynamic) / 6 (Premium) "up to six" (announced)
ABS and EBD not stated on the Cimex page announced
Screens 10.1-inch touchscreen, wired and wireless CarPlay and Android Auto dual 10.25-inch displays (announced)
Camera 360° on both variants (The Himalayan Times) not stated
Power out of the car V2L, up to 2.2 kW not stated

"Announced" means Wuling's June 2026 news release; the Binguo model page itself lists only the 31.9 kWh battery and a few exterior features (two-tone paint, X-shaped lights on the "Pro", electric folding mirrors). The 2024 launch report gave 790 litres with the rear seats folded. The June release does not say, so treat it as a seats-folded figure until Wuling confirms. Bring your family and your usual luggage to both showrooms.

Running cost

Both are small, light-battery cars, so running costs will be close. We assume 15 kWh per 100 km at the plug for both (our assumption). Electricity is Rs 11.55 per unit: the Nepal Electricity Authority's Rs 11 top domestic rate plus 5% VAT, as The Kathmandu Post reported from July 2026.

Either car
Cost per km (0.15 × Rs 11.55) about Rs 1.73
1,500 km a month (225 units) about Rs 2,599
Full charge from empty Atto 1: Rs 347 / 449. Binguo: Rs 368 / 438

Loans. Nepal Rastra Bank caps vehicle loans at 60% of the price, so you need at least Rs 12.30 lakh of your own for an Atto 1 Dynamic and Rs 13.92 lakh for the Premium. We cannot work out the Binguo's figures until it has a price. Try any price in the EMI calculator.

Warranty and service network

  • Atto 1: Cimex shows "8 Years / 1,50,000 KMs", terms and conditions applied, without saying what it covers. Our dealer directory lists 16 BYD sales outlets and 14 service centres in 15 cities, from Birtamode to Dhangadhi.
  • Binguo: no warranty is published for the updated car. For the 2024 version, Artha Kendra reported 8 years or 1,20,000 km on the battery and 3 years or 1,00,000 km on the motor. Our directory lists Wuling's showroom in Naxal and three service centres, all in the Kathmandu Valley.

If you live outside the valley, the service network may matter more than any spec on this page.

Which one fits your family?

  • If you need a car now: the Atto 1. It has a price, a published warranty and dealers across the country.
  • If you live outside the Kathmandu Valley: the Atto 1, unless Wuling adds service points near you.
  • If you want the most claimed range and can wait: the Binguo 37.9 kWh, but only once Wuling names the test standard and the price.
  • If you often load the car to the roof: compare both in person; Wuling quotes 790 litres of cargo space, Cimex gives no figure.
  • If safety equipment is your priority: the Atto 1 Premium's six airbags are confirmed; the Binguo's "up to six" may depend on the variant.

Also worth a look in this budget:

For full details see the BYD Atto 1 price in Nepal and Wuling Binguo price in Nepal pages, our in-depth BYD Atto 1 guide, and all electric cars in the EV price list.

Sources

  1. Cimex (BYD Nepal) – BYD ATTO 1 model page (specifications, features, warranty)
  2. Cimex (BYD Nepal) – Price list
  3. The Himalayan Times – BYD unveils new-generation ATTO series in Nepal (12 August 2026)
  4. Wuling Nepal (Paramount Motors) – Binguo model page (Coming Soon)
  5. Wuling Nepal – price list, price as of 21 Sept 2026 (Binguo: Coming Soon)
  6. Wuling Nepal – Paramount Motors to unveil four new Wuling EV models at NAIMA Mobility Expo 2026 (28 June 2026)
  7. OnlineKhabar English – 2024 Wuling Binguo EV now in Nepal (20 May 2024)
  8. Artha Kendra – Wuling Binguo EV: price in Nepal (21 May 2024)
  9. Dongfeng Nepal (MAW Vriddhi) – Nammi Box model page (CLTC range)
  10. Leapmotor Nepal (Shangrila Motors) – T03 model page
  11. Nepal Electricity Authority – Consumer tariff rates (domestic single-phase slabs)
  12. The Kathmandu Post – Households using over 50 electricity units to pay five percent VAT (18 July 2026)
  13. Business 360 – Monetary policy mid-term review: vehicle loan ratio set at 60% (26 February 2025)

#ev#byd#wuling#atto-1#binguo#electric-hatchback#comparison#family-car

Related articles

Electric cars in Nepal

See all →

Latest articles