Deepal S07 in Nepal: price, range-extender vs electric, and rivals
Wheels of Nepal · पछिल्लो अद्यावधिक: · ९ मिनेट पढ्न
हाम्रा लेखका नेपाली संस्करण छिट्टै आउँदैछन्। तलका लेख अंग्रेजीमा छन्। अंग्रेजीमा पढ्नुहोस् →
The Deepal S07 costs Rs 74.99 lakh and the longer-range S07 L Rs 84.99 lakh in Nepal (indicative ex-showroom prices on the official site, checked October 2026). Both versions sold here are fully battery-electric, not the petrol range-extender sold in some other markets.
The Deepal S07 is a mid-size, five-seat SUV from Changan's Deepal brand, sold in Nepal by MAW Vriddhi. Nepal gets two versions: the S07 and the longer-range S07 L. If you have read about the S07 abroad, you may have seen it described as a "range-extender". That is not the car listed in Nepal, and the difference matters for running costs, servicing and tax.
This is a buyer's guide built from official data. We have not driven either car.
Range-extender vs electric: what Nepal actually gets
A range-extender electric vehicle (EREV) always drives its wheels with an electric motor, as a pure EV does. It also carries a small petrol engine whose job is to generate electricity once the battery runs low. You can charge it from the mains, but for long trips you also fill it with petrol. It is a kind of hybrid, and it needs engine servicing as well.
Deepal does sell the S07 that way in some markets. Changan's June 2026 release on its Oman launch, for example, describes the S07 there as range-extended. That version pairs a 1.5-litre petrol range extender with a 31.74 kWh battery. The release quotes 160 km of electric range and 950 km in total, both on WLTP.
The S07 and S07 L listed in Nepal are battery-electric. Their official specification pages list a permanent-magnet electric motor and a large battery, with no engine and no fuel tank. The distributor's price list carries the note that prices include VAT for electric vehicles. Nepal's S07 batteries are also about twice the size of the Oman car's battery (66.8 and 79.97 kWh against 31.74 kWh).
So, for a Nepali buyer:
- there is no petrol to buy and no engine oil to change on either S07 sold here
- long trips depend on charging, not on filling up
- if a range-extender version is ever offered in Nepal, its running cost, servicing and tax treatment would differ. Ask the dealer to confirm which powertrain you are booking.
Deepal S07 and S07 L prices in Nepal
These are indicative ex-showroom prices on the official site (checked October 2026). The price list is dated 19 September 2026.
| Model | Battery | Indicative ex-showroom price |
|---|---|---|
| Deepal S07 | 66.8 kWh | Rs 74,99,000 |
| Deepal S07 L | 79.97 kWh | Rs 84,99,000 |
Each is listed as a single variant. The S07 L costs Rs 10 lakh more and brings a bigger battery and a more powerful motor. The body size is the same.
Battery, range, power and charging
| Item | S07 | S07 L |
|---|---|---|
| Battery | 66.8 kWh, ternary lithium (NMC) | 79.97 kWh, ternary lithium (NMC) |
| Claimed range | 485 km (NEDC) | 485 km (WLTP) on the model page; 560 km (NEDC) on the spec page |
| Motor | 99 kW, 320 Nm, rear-wheel drive | 160 kW (model page), 320 Nm, rear-wheel drive |
| 0–100 km/h | not listed | 6.67 s (claimed) |
| DC fast charging | 30% to 80% in 35 minutes | 30% to 80% in 35 minutes |
| AC charging | not listed | not listed |
| V2L | listed | listed |
Some notes on these numbers:
- The S07 L has two range figures. Its model page says 485 km on WLTP, while its specification page says 560 km on NEDC. They are not contradictory: NEDC is a gentler test, so it gives a higher number. When you compare with rivals, use the WLTP figure where one exists.
- The S07's 99 kW is a Nepal figure. A footnote on the specification page says export models outside Nepal have a different motor power. Do not rely on foreign reviews for performance figures.
- AC charging power is not published for either car. Ask what the onboard charger accepts, because that decides how long a full charge takes at home.
For charging at home and on highways, see our EV charging guide.
Size, space and features we can confirm
Both versions share these figures from the specification pages:
- 4,750 mm long, 1,930 mm wide and 1,625 mm tall, with a 2,900 mm wheelbase
- 175 mm ground clearance and a 5.75 m turning radius
- 20-inch alloy wheels with 255/45R20 tyres
- five seats, a 60:40 folding rear seat, a front boot and a power tailgate. The rear boot volume is not listed.
Listed equipment on both includes:
- a 15.6-inch touchscreen and a head-up display with AR navigation
- a panoramic glass roof, ventilated front seats and dual-zone climate control
- a 360-degree camera and tyre pressure monitoring
- front, front-side and curtain airbags (the count is not stated), ABS with EBD, and ESP
- ADAS including adaptive cruise with stop-and-go, automatic emergency braking, lane keeping, blind-spot detection and rear cross-traffic braking
Those 20-inch wheels have low-profile tyres. Ask about the price and local availability of replacement tyres in that size.
Warranty
MAW Vriddhi's warranty page gives general Deepal terms and says coverage "may vary by model", so confirm the terms for your car in writing.
| Part | Standard | With extended warranty |
|---|---|---|
| Battery | 8 years / 2,40,000 km | 11 years / 3,00,000 km |
| Motor | 8 years / 1,50,000 km | 11 years / 2,00,000 km |
The extended cover requires servicing at authorised centres and continuous comprehensive insurance with Shikhar Insurance. Its price is not published.
Running cost: the arithmetic
We use the NEA domestic top block of Rs 11 per unit plus 5% VAT, which comes to Rs 11.55 per unit. The S07 is a large SUV on 20-inch wheels, so we assume 20 kWh per 100 km at the plug for both versions. This is our cautious assumption, not a measured figure. The official numbers work out to about 13.8 kWh per 100 km for the S07 (66.8 ÷ 485), but that comes from the lenient NEDC test.
| At 1,500 km a month | |
|---|---|
| Electricity used | 1,500 × 0.20 = 300 units |
| Monthly cost | 300 × Rs 11.55 = Rs 3,465 |
| Cost per km | about Rs 2.31 |
| 5 years (90,000 km) | 18,000 units × Rs 11.55 = about Rs 2.08 lakh |
The S07 L's bigger battery does not by itself raise the cost per km. What it gives you is more distance between charges. Try your own figures in the EV charging cost calculator.
On finance, Nepal Rastra Bank's 60% loan cap means a down payment of at least Rs 30 lakh on the S07 and Rs 34 lakh on the S07 L. Use the EMI calculator with your bank's current rate. Our EV tax explainer shows how the FY 2026/27 value-based EV duties affect cars at this price.
Rivals at a similar price
These are indicative ex-showroom prices from the official sites (October 2026).
| Model | From (Rs) | Battery | Claimed range | Power |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deepal S07 | 74.99 lakh | 66.8 kWh | 485 km (NEDC) | 99 kW |
| Deepal S07 L | 84.99 lakh | 79.97 kWh | 485 km (WLTP) | 160 kW |
| MG S6 EV | 71.99 lakh | 77 kWh | 530 km (WLTP) | 180 kW |
| Leapmotor C10 | 72.00 lakh | 69.9 kWh | 420 km (WLTP) | 160 kW |
| BYD Atto 3 Superior | 78.00 lakh | 60.48 kWh | 420 km (WLTP) | 100 kW |
| Geely Galaxy EX5 Max | 72.99 lakh | not stated | 430 km (WLTP) | not stated |
| Deepal S07 | 74.99 lakh |
|---|---|
| Deepal S07 L | 84.99 lakh |
| MG S6 EV | 71.99 lakh |
| Leapmotor C10 | 72 lakh |
| BYD Atto 3 Superior | 78 lakh |
| Geely Galaxy EX5 Max | 72.99 lakh |
Source: Official Nepal distributor sites, indicative ex-showroom prices checked October 2026 (rivals table above)
The same distributor's Deepal L07 fastback (Rs 69,99,999) uses the same 66.8 kWh battery and 2,900 mm wheelbase as the S07, in a lower body. If you can do without the SUV height, it is worth a look. The smaller Deepal S05 costs less; see our S05 guide.
Compare directly: S07 vs S07 L, S07 vs MG S6 EV or S07 vs Leapmotor C10. The full list is on our SUV price page.
Who each version suits
- S07: buyers who want a large, well-equipped electric SUV and mostly drive in and around one city. Note that its 99 kW motor rating is lower than every rival in the table that publishes one.
- S07 L: buyers who travel between cities often. The extra 13.17 kWh means fewer charging stops, and the motor is more powerful. You pay Rs 10 lakh for that.
- Neither: anyone who expected a petrol range-extender for areas with few chargers. That version is not on the Nepal price list.
What to check before buying
- Powertrain on the booking form: confirm it says electric (BEV), and the exact model (S07 or S07 L).
- Range figure and test cycle: ask which figure applies to the car being delivered.
- AC charging power and whether a home charger and its installation are included.
- Warranty terms in writing, and the cost of the extended cover.
- Tyre cost for 255/45R20 replacements.
- The final price on the day, since the official list says prices can change without notice.
स्रोतहरू
- Changan Nepal (MAW Vriddhi) – Deepal price list (as of 19 September 2026)
- Changan Nepal – Deepal S07 model page
- Changan Nepal – Deepal S07 specification
- Changan Nepal – Deepal S07 L model page
- Changan Nepal – Deepal S07 L specification
- Changan Nepal – Deepal extended warranty
- PR Newswire – Changan launches DEEPAL brand in Oman with range extended electric vehicles (8 June 2026)
- Nepal Electricity Authority – Consumer tariff rates
- The Kathmandu Post – Households using over 50 electricity units to pay five percent VAT (18 July 2026)
- Business 360 – Monetary policy mid-term review: vehicle loan ratio set at 60% (26 February 2025)
#deepal#s07#s07-l#electric-suv#range-extender#ev#price